Skip to content

Fever

September 2, 2009

There is a white hot feeling you get when you are achieving your full potential, firing on all cylinders with the throttle wide open.  Last year, I watched my daughter perform in her high school musical and belt out a number bigger than Broadway.  That was her moment.  When the ICU alarms ring because a patient’s oxygen saturation and heart rate are dropping, my wife’s levels go straight up.  All her knowledge and training slip into a seamless flow of teamwork and execution.  What about you, dear reader?  When do you feel like all your gears are completely engaged?

I can answer for Logan.  Yesterday, at the Rye Airfield skate park, he was champing at the bit for the three o’clock session to start, like a thoroughbred at the gates.  For the next three hours, he hurtled down, up, over, and around the contours of the park, recovering six weeks of lost balance and even advancing the high water mark of his skills (he pulled his first Indy).  By six o’clock, he was dog tired, flushed, and sweaty.  “Let’s go,” he told me, with a ‘my work here is done’ expression.  I replied, stumbling over my words, that I was proud of him for knowing what lights his fire and for going after it.  Then I tried to paraphrase a quote from Dances with Wolves, “I was just thinking that of all the trails in this life there is one that matters most. It is the trail of a true human being. I think you are on this trail and it is good to see.”

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

