Skip to content

mall of America

October 15, 2009

Overwhelming.  They call it the largest mall in America, but that’s just branding.  It’s actually the only indoor theme park surrounded by a three story gift shop.  I had expected a juggernaut of retail stores, a modern bizarre, a place where you could buy anything.  I was prepared to appreciate such a monument to commerce. Instead, I felt more like I was on a summer resort town’s boardwalk, packed with overpriced rides ($6 rides, $9 mini golf, $7 mirror maze) and souvenir kitsch, obliging me to either pour out cash or disappoint the starstruck kid tugging at my arm.  Not much fun for either of us.

One Comment leave one →
  1. David Winkler permalink
    October 16, 2009 12:27 pm

    “Mall of America” – Obviously a must see…but did you really think you would enjoy it? Sounds like the 7th level of hell to me!

    Anyway…you guys are flying across the states! Great to catch up on the blogs and keep going. I want more skating videos!!!

    Love,
    Dave

Leave a Reply

