Skip to content

education

December 16, 2009

Discussing this topic with folks lately, I realize that my thinking has shifted.  My wife and both attended public school, and I know a lot of great teachers in the system (including all of Logan’s, last year), but I’m beginning to doubt the system itself.  I’m realizing that “standardized” education doesn’t work for every kid, by definition.  Yet, standards are what we reference when evaluating kids, teachers, principals, and schools. 

Beyond the standard courses, we customize the school day for gifted students and special needs students, but only to a point.  There are limitations to how much tailoring can be done to any uniform.  For many students – the kids in the middle part of the bell curve – the system gives them what they need.  But there are obviously kids who would benefit from an even more individualized program than is possible within the parameters of even a reasonably flexible system.  I’m coming to grips with that.

There are public schools, private schools, charter schools, magnet schools, online schools (242 listed on this site), and homeschooling.  I have no idea what shape Logan’s education will take next year.  I just want to be sure it’s right for him.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

