Skip to content

Henry Winkler (no relation)

February 26, 2010

While looking up schools on the web that serve students with language based learning disabilities, I came upon Denver Academy.  The website includes a video (below) that shows Henry Winkler receiving an award from the school.  At about 2:30 into the clip, he says “Hi. I’m Henry Winkler.  I’m a husband. I’m a dad.  I’m an actor.  I’m a producer.  I write children’s books.  And I’m in the bottom 3% in the country in academics.”  He makes a blunt and legitimate point: poor students can still succeed.  I’m no statistician, but I suspect that the correlation between academic success and professional success is very strong.  Henry Winkler failed geometry three times in high school, but he earned a masters degree from Yale in drama.  Among those in his industry, I wonder in what percentile he ranks.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

